This policy defines the duration of course site availability and course data in Etudes. The policy applies only to colleges that are active clients of Etudes.
Live Course Data
At any given time, a year and a half worth of course sites are available ‘live’ on Etudes.
The “live” course sites are accessible in standard author mode by instructors, including authored or uploaded content, grades, rosters, student submissions, private messages, discussion posts and other data recorded by Etudes from students and instructors.
Archiving of Sites
Content from two additional past years are available in archives. Thus, instructors have access to three and a half years of course content at any given time. This does not include student data.
Archived courses are stored as backup packages. They are not live sites and instructors do not have direct access to them. However, Etudes enables instructors to copy all or select content from archived courses to current live or development sites, via import from site. When clicking on import from site, instructors can select to Import from Archives. The two years of archived courses are listed in chronological order, just below the live sites in import from site. Import from archives brings over all the content, like import from site. No student data.
Purging of Sites
Once courses are archived, the live versions are purged from Etudes. This includes all content, files, grades, assignments, tests, and anything else associated with the course site.
It is important to minimize the amount of database information within Etudes and to best utilize that space for active courses. Purging inactive courses helps maintain a manageable database size, to ensure speed and performance of the servers, as well as a cost containment measure in the amount of storage needed. Purging an Etudes course site removes it from the Etudes system so that it is no longer accessible. When a site is deleted it is automatically removed from a user’s course list. However, if it is within the archiving period, it is available to copy under import from site.
The data retention policy does not apply to development sites, project sites, or My Resources. These remain ‘live’.
Archiving and purging occurs on July 1, annually. Instructors are given a 90-day, 60-day, and 30-day notice, via a high-priority announcement in the Users Group.
On July 1 of 2017, we will do the following:
- Keep all of 2016 and 2017 to-date live on the Etudes servers (accessible on myetudes.org)
- Archive 2015 courses (sites from 2014 will still be in archives), accessible with import from site only.
- Purge 2015 live courses.
- Drop 2013 from archives.
How Do I Retain a Copy of the Content Before the Course is Purged?
If a course is older than three and a half years and is scheduled to be purged in July, you can request a development site and import its content into it to preserve its content.