Features in Main Assessments Page

 

Once you’ve created some assessments, they will be listed on the Assessments List page.

From the main Assessments page, you can perform a number of actions (see menu): Add more assessments, delete unwanted ones if they have no submissions, publish or unpublish assessments, archive or restore assessments, and import and export assessments. 

In the row of each assessment, there are action icons that allow you to preview the assessment, establish your settings, set special access,. duplicate, or print assessments. And you can easily set assessment open and due dates for all assessments from the list page at once.

This section covers the behavior and use of these functions.

Assessments list

Assessments are listed by due date so that items that require students’ attention are listed at the top.

More specifically, the order of assessments is affected by the following:

  1. In student view, assessments are listed based on due dates and then in alphabetical order.
  2. The minute students BEGIN an assessment (possibly out of order, if many are open), and it is ‘in progress,’ it moves up to the top of the list, as it’s something that they MUST attend to. “In-progress” assessments are high priority. Assessments whose ‘accept until’ (hard due date) is approaching are also high priority and will be marked with “Attention Required” for students to see easily.
  3. The minute students ‘finish’ an assessment, it gets moved to the bottom of the list, as it’s done with and should not clutter their assessments list of open ones that they should study for and take within the due date.

In summary, the finished, past due assessments are listed at the bottom and the newer, open ones are listed first, with the ‘in progress’ ones, particularly timed exams (where time is running out!), listed higher than any others.

Explaining all the icons (features)

When you look at the rows on the Assessment List page, there are several icons in each row, each affiliated with that assessment. The screen shot to the right shows these icons with the title and dates portions removed.

Let’s describe what these icons are for, starting with the left-most column.

Little person or red pen icon

This ‘live’ icon indicates that the assessment has submissions. It is labeled ‘Live’ on the screen shot because at least one person has started the quiz. Once an assessment has students who have begun submissions, it cannot be deleted, but it can be unpublished and archived, if desired. You can go directly to Grade Submissions for this assessment by clicking on the “Live” fellow with the grading pen icon to access and evaluate submissions for this specific assessment.

The live fellow icon indicates that your submissions have been graded – either automatically by the system (for objective assessments) or by you. If submissions are awaiting you to grade them, you will see a red pen icon in place of the little person icon.

In the example below, the third assessment has submissions that need to be graded, as indicated by the red icon. Everything has been graded in the first two assessments.

This column may also show a yield sign, indicating there is something invalid with the assessment.

If you’ve set improper date ranges (i.e. an open date that is after the due date), chosen more questions from a pool than it has or if you have a test with no questions, or you have forgotten to assign points, you’ll see that yield sign. You’ll need to fix the problems before the assessment can be published. This is to protect you from publishing assessments with serious problems.

Status

It indicates if an assessment is published or unpublished. Published assessments are visible and available to students.

Type

The Type column shows if the assessment is a test, survey, or an assignment. You can sort items by type. Also, you can preview the assessment by clicking on the Type icon. This is a preview (not a test drive). All the questions will be on one page, along with your answer key to preview them. After you click on the Preview / Type icon to the left of an assessment’s title to preview it, you can click on Next to move to the next one, and so on, until you have previewed all of your assessments. This feature allows you to preview all assessments – published or not.

Settings

This is where you establish your settings for an assessment. You may also publish it from this page, as well.

Special Access

Clicking on this icon allows you to add special access privileges (i.e. more time, more tries, later due date, etc.) for one or more students. It will be described in more detail below.

Duplicate

Clicking on the Duplicate icon will create a virtually identical assessment. The only differences are: 1) a new ID number, 2) the new one will NOT be published, even if the original was, and 3) the title of the duplicate will include information on when it was copied, date and time.

What Else Happens on this Page?


Add

Click on the Add link to create your assessment.

Delete

You can delete assessments by checking in the box to the left of the title, and then clicking on the Delete link. Only assessments which have not been started by a student can be deleted (no submissions yet).

Publish

Check the box to the left of the assessment and then click on the Publish icon on the action menu. This will add a green check box on the gear icon under the Publish column, indicating that the assessment is now published and available to students. They can see the assessment in their view, though they may not be able to access it, if it is not yet open. You may check and publish several or all assessments at the same time by using the “Publish” button.

Unpublish

You can unpublish an assessment by checking the box and clicking on the Unpublish link. Live assessments can be unpublished. Unpublished assessments are not seen by students, whether they’ve been submitted or not. Unpublished assessments are also removed from the Grading section of AT&S.

Also, when an assessment is unpublished, its entry and points are removed from the Gradebook. However, if you republish an assessment that you unpublished in error, the item and grades will be restored in the gradebook, and in the Grading area of AT&S.

Archive

Selecting an assessment and clicking the Archive link will remove it from your view, as well as student view, if it were published. As archived items become unpublished, they will be removed from Grading and the Gradebook as well.

When you archive a published assessment that had submissions, you will not lose those records. Upon restoration, they will be available in Grading again.

Restore

If you decide that you want to restore an assessment that you’ve banished to the archives, you can always get it back by clicking on the Restore link. Check the item(s) you want to restore and then OK.

The item is back on the Assessment List page. However, it is unpublished, so you’ll have to publish it again if you want students to view/take it, or for the grades to be sent to the Gradebook.

Set Options Globally

This feature allows you to set options across many assessments at once.

Set Options Globally

For more information on its usage, see Set Options Globally.

Print Tests

To print tests with or without answers, click on the print icon to the far right of the test. Select the print option and print.

print tests option

[rule_top]

Print Friendly