Deleting Files via the Editor

Home » Help Center » Instructors » Deleting Files via the Editor
 

There may be times that you want to remove files from your courses that are no longer relevant in your content, or delete an old version and upload a revised version of the same file. The references to the deletion files will not be removed from your content. Therefore, if you upload a new version of a file (with an identical filename), your existing links will continue to work and will load the updated versions of your files. 

You can delete images or files that you uploaded in your site through the editor, following the below steps:

Deleting Images

  1. Click on the Insert Image icon of the editor in the area where you want to delete uploaded image files (i.e. AT&S, Modules, Syllabus, etc.).
    insert image
     
  2. The file finder will load, displaying all the images that you have uploaded in that tool in Etudes. 
  3. Place your mouse on the file that you want to delete and then right-click, and click on Delete.

    deleting images
     

  4. A confirmation dialog box will appear asking you to confirm the deletion or cancel. Please note that the action cannot be undone. 

    Note: In the Home Page Builder, if a file is in use, you can’t delete it. Etudes will warn you that it’s in use. We didn’t implement deletion of files the same way in the rest of Etudes, as it is too expensive resource-wise to check all the content and find where a file may be in use. In the rest of Etudes, we let you delete any file, whether it’s in use or not, if you confirm. 

top

Deleting Files

  1. Click on the Insert Hyperlinks icon of the editor in the area where you want to delete uploaded files (i.e. AT&S, Modules, Syllabus, etc.). This icon is used for adding links and for uploading documents and linking to them. 

    insert links in editor

  2. The file finder will load, displaying all the files that you have uploaded in that tool in Etudes. 
  3. Place your mouse on the file that you want to delete and then right-click, and click on Delete.
  4. A confirmation dialog box will appear asking you to confirm the deletion or cancel. Please note that the action cannot be undone. 

Display Settings

You can adjust the settings of the file management area of the editor (a.k.a. File Finder) by clicking on Settings at the top.

File Finder Display Settings

top