Instructors have the ability to manage topics: delete, move, lock, and unlock.
- You have the ability to lock topics once a discussion is over. Students will be able to view locked discussions, but they will no longer be able to post. This is a great feature to encourage time on task.
- If you determine that a topic was locked prematurely, you can unlock it again for your class.
- If students post a topic at the wrong forum, you can use move a topic and place it in the right location.
- You can delete topics that you no longer need. CAUTION: This will delete all the replies attached to the topic.
NOTE: If you want to delete a reply, you can click on the X icon of the post itself. It doesn’t affect other replies.
To perform any of the moderation actions, check one or more topics and then click on the action button. The same check boxes are used for checking one or more topics to mark as having been read. See image below.
You have the ability to lock topics once a discussion is over. You can set this to happen automatically, by setting due dates, or you can lock topics manually when you choose. To lock a topic manually, check the box to the left of the topic and click on lock function button.
If you determine that a topic was locked prematurely, you can unlock it again. Check the forum and click on Unlock.
Locked topics can be easily identified by students as they have a locked icon before navigation bar at forum level.
If a discussion is locked because the due date has passed, the lock icon is slightly different.
Students will be able to view locked discussions, but they will no longer be able to post replies nor edit their contributions.
However, as instructors can post/reply/edit in locked topics/forums, they don’t see a locked icon. They will see the Post Topic icon/button.